THE LATEST HIVE INSTALLATIONS

 

HIVE TALKIN’….
garland stanbury centro

It was a dark and stormy night. Wait. Let me start at the beginning. It was a blazing sun, brilliant blue sky day…

James Edwards of Raleigh City Farm sent me a message asking if I wanted to help him get some bees out of a tree.
Swarm!
“Yes!” I said. I was in between hive checks. “I can be there in 20 minutes. Do you have a ladder and a box?” “Yes. No rush. They’ve been there for a while. They have comb.” So I finished my next hive check even more curious and excited, threw a bunch of maybe useful things in a truck and headed to the farm. There they were. A gorgeous, white-combed colony of honeybees setting up house at eye level in a fig tree. James and I carefully cut the branches around the cluster and eased her into an empty box.
Operation: saved eggs, larvae, and brood while the queen scurried between frames. James was a stellar helper for a successful move.
Fast forward to a dark and stormy night…actually gently raining and cooler, which is the best weather for moving hives: Stanbury, Centro, Garland, etc…hives are moving in!
More stories to come.

